MOLECULAR PHARMACOLOGY

A Publication of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Founded by Avram Goldstein—1965

P. Jeffrey Conn, Editor

ASSOCIATE EDITORS

Joël Bockaert, Paul Dent, Alfred L. George, Steven Grant, Lee M. Graves, Richard B. Kim, Dianne M. Perez, Hugh Rosen, Stephen F. Traynelis, David R. Sibley, Minireview Editor

EDITORIAL AND ADVISORY BOARD

Myles Akabas Yehuda G. Assaraf Jacques Barhanin Tamas Bartfai Giuseppe Battaglia Jeffrey L. Benovic Nigel J.M. Birdsall Randy D. Blakely Julie Blendy Kendall J. Blumer Gary M. Bokoch Michel Bouvier Thomas P. Burris William A. Catterall Srikumar Chellappan Arthur Christopoulos Richard B. Clark Jonathan B. Cohen John W. Daly Phillip A. Dennis

David L. Dewitt George Dubyak Ronald S. Duman Frederick J. Ehlert Daniel J. Fernandes Michael Freissmuth Yoshiaki Fujii-Kuriyama Herman Koepsell James C. Garrison Ulrik Gether Robert I. Glazer Catherine Godson Frank J. Gonzalez Michael M. Gottesman Robert M. Graham Jennifer R. Grandis R. Adron Harris John R. Hepler Peter J. Houghton Robin Irvine Kenneth A. Jacobson

Karl H. Jakobs Jonathan Javitch Eric F. Johnson Peter Kalivas Marcelo Kazanietz Brian K. Kobilka Rakesh Kukreja Ping-Yee Law L.M. Fredrik Leeb-Lundberg Henry Lester Lian Li Stephen B. Liggett Thomas M. Lincoln Joel Linden Richard B. Lock Sophie Lotersztain Robert L. Macdonald Peter MacKenzie

David Manning Richard Marais Donald H. Maurice Andrew McCammon James McCubrey James O. McNamara Kathryn E. Meier Martin Michel Laurence Miller Graeme Milligan Neil M. Nathanson Mark T. Nelson Richard R. Neubig Kim A. Neve Robert A. Nicholas Sanjay K. Nigam R. Alan North Robert E. Oswald Krzysztof Palczewski Gavril W. Pasternak

Tarun Patel Jean-Philippe Pin Alvaro Puga Roland Reinehr John J. Reiners, Jr. Des Richardson Michael Robinson Michael A. Rogawski Elliott M. Ross Bryan L. Roth Carol A. Rouzer Arnold E. Ruoho Elaine Sanders-Bush Jill Siegfried Shivendra V. Singh David J. Waxman Jurgen Wess Michael M. White Keith Williams Richard D. Ye

BOARD OF PUBLICATIONS TRUSTEES

James E. Barrett, Chair; P. Jeffrey Conn, Ross Feldman, Lorraine J. Gudas, Eric F. Johnson, John S. Lazo, Edward T. Morgan, Richard R. Neubig, Rick G. Schnellmann, Darryle D. Schoepp, and Mary Vore

ASPET EXECUTIVE OFFICER: Christine K. Carrico

Journals Director: Richard Dodenhoff Managing Editor: Jill Filler Senior Editorial Coordinator: Dan Collinge

Journal and ASPET office: 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3995; telephone: 301-634-7060; fax: 301-634-7061; email: info@aspet.org; web site: www.aspet.org; journal web site: molpharm. aspetjournals.org.

Editorial matters should be addressed to Dr. P. Jeffrey Conn, Editor, Molecular Pharmacology, at the above address.

Official version: The online version of Molecular Pharmacology contains all of the information and material contained in the print version plus additional material that may not appear in print such as videos and large data sets. The online version may be more current than the print version. Where noted, the online version has been corrected in departure from the print version. The online version of Molecular Pharmacology officially published by the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics is the definitive version and, to the extent any difference exists, will prevail over the print version.

Instructions to Authors: See molpharm.aspetjournals.org for the Instructions to Authors and the ASPET Authorship Responsibility, Financial Disclosure, and Copyright Transfer form.

Subscriptions: Contact the ASPET Subscriptions Dept., 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3995; telephone: 301-634-7782; fax: 301-634-7061; email: subscriptions@aspet.org. For multi-site and consortia sales in Europe, contact: David Charles, eLicensing, 92 avenue du Général de Gaulle, 78600, Maisons-Laffitte, France; telephone: +33-1-39-12-29-29; fax: +33-1-39-12-47-45; email: dc.elicensing@organge.fr.

Change of address: ASPET must be notified 60 days in advance. Copies undeliverable because of incorrect address will be destroyed. Duplicate copies may be obtained, if available, from ASPET at the single copy price. Send address changes to the ASPET office.

Issue replacement policy: Domestic subscribers—Claims for nondelivery of issues must be made within three (3) months of issue mail date. Foreign subscribers—Claims for nondelivery of issues must be made within six (6) months of issue mail date. Missing Issues (domestic and foreign)—ASPET will not honor refunds or replacement requests made outside of the claim time period. Up to two (2) issues will be replaced free of charge per subscription year.

Reprints in large quantities for commercial or academic use may be purchased from ASPET. For information and prices, call 301-634-7063.

Copyright information: *Molecular Pharmacology* is copyrighted by the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. For permission to photocopy or use material electronically from Molecular Pharmacology, see www.copyright.com or contact the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), Inc., 222 Rosewood Dr., Danvers, MA 01923; telephone: 978-750-8400. Photocopying of articles beyond that permitted by Sections 107 and 108 of the U.S. Copyright Law is allowed, provided that the \$20.00-per-copy fee is paid through the CCC. Classroom photocopying is permitted at no fee, provided that students are not charged more than the cost of duplication. This consent does not extend to other kinds of copying. Reproduction of any portion of an article for subsequent republication requires permission of ASPET. Write to the ASPET office at the above address. Requests should include a statement of intended use as well as explicit specifications of the materials to be reproduced.

Disclaimer: The statements and opinions contained in the articles of Molecular Pharmacology are solely those of the individual authors and contributors and not of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. The appearance of advertisements in the journal is not a warranty, endorsement, or approval of the products or their safety. The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics disclaims responsibility for any injury to persons or property resulting from any ideas or products referred to in any article or advertisement.

Copyright © 2008 by the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. All rights reserved. Printed in the U.S.A.